top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Jackson

Drew Jackson - Dad Extraordinaire

Updated: Jun 21, 2021

I started to write a typical Happy Father's Day post about my husband and was struggling to fit it all in one nice neat post that reflected everything I wanted to say. So blog post it is!


I first knew Drew was going to a great Dad long before I even knew he was going to make a great life partner. We were seniors in high school when he took me fishing for the first time and I was awful. I constantly snagged the line, was scared of hurting the worms, and refused to take the fish off the hook. However, not once did he get frustrated. Not while trying to "fish" my hook out of the tree limb behind me after my first attempt to cast. Not while pulling and breaking the line for the third time to fix a snag. And not while I missed countless fish by yanking on the pole too soon. I remembering being in awe at his patience and understanding. I instantly knew he would be incredible with any children. No matter what activity they were doing together.


The second time I imagined Drew being great with kids was when we got our dog, Beau. I saw Drew find joy in Beau doing what he does best, hunting birds. His eyes would light up and he would speak enthusiastically about their outings when they got home. I couldn't wait to see him find the same joy in teaching his children new activities and watching them learn everyday.


And the last time I KNEW for a fact Drew would crush fatherhood was when he lived with me for the first time. He tolerated every bit of my messiness and mood swings. This sweet man would do the dishes and laundry without even asking. There was no passive aggressive throwing of my wet towel onto the hook, resentment for having to fold my laundry, or snappy comments about how I forgot to put my cup away after dinner. If he could deal with me, he could deal with children messing up his home. :)


I now know he is a great dad and here are some pictures to prove it. And keep scrolling to see some just Drew moments too. I'm all about celebrating every part of him today since the chaos of our every day life doesn't always allow me to show my full appreciation. And also I'm finally starting to learn his love language is words of affirmation, not an endless supply of baked goods ;)

Drew is not only the world's best Dad, but he is the world's best HUMAN. I truly think that he is a better Dad because he is strong in his faith, a good friend, and is passionate about his hobbies. He is a great example to our sons about what it means to give 100% in every aspect of your life. I'm grateful Aiden and Nolan will have the opportunity to learn about hunting, CrossFit, the great outdoors, and how have a great time from you. They absolutely ADORE watching you. Mowing the lawn, working out, or even eating dinner. The boys LOVE absorbing up as much knowledge about the world and love as they can from you.

Here's to Drew Jackson, HAPPY FATHER'S DAY!

XOXO,

Aiden & Nolan & Beau


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page