top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Jackson

San Diego: A West Coast Must-See

San Diego is one of my FAVORITE cities. I've only been once, but I can't wait to go back and explore more. I don't always love going on tours, as I normally like discovering things off the beaten path. But the big tourist spots in San Diego were totally worth it to better understand the history and layout. I hope to go back someday and find more of those hidden gems, but this was one trip I will never forget!


La Jolla Cove

Fun fact: Harbor seals don’t chew their food. They swallow their food whole or tear it into chunks. Same Mr. Seal, same.


But on a serious note, these are some of the most unique and fascinating animals I've had to the pleasure to see. I think I could have stayed here for hours and just watched them sun bathe. La Jolla Cove is one of the best places to see the local seals and sea lions. Spend the evening walking, taking pictures, and just enjoying their presence. They are there year round. Just a heads up, parking can get crazy so be prepared to walk a bit.


Coronado Island

Fun Fact: Coronado Island is home to one of my favorite murder mysteries. Rebecca Zahau's death was officially ruled a suicide in 2011 but there is a LOT that doesn't make sense. If you are a true crime nerd like me, check it out. Also, check out the My Favorite Murder podcast episode on it (Episode #8).


We didn't spend much time here, as it was just one stop on a day tour. However, it was pretty neat to see the unique buildings and gorgeous beach by the bay. The bridge getting over that beautiful bay is terrifyingly high, so if you don't like heights you might want to reconsider!!


Mission & Pacific Beach

We stayed in a quaint bungalow airbnb just a short 10 minute walk to the beach. I would 100% recommend renting instead of a hotel. You get to see the neighborhood, try local food, and get away from the tourists for a bit. I loved pretending it was my normal morning routine to run to the board walk and watch the sunrise. Moments like those make me wonder if people that live in the warmth all year round realllllly appreciate it or if they just adapt and ignore the beauty around them.

The San Diego Zoo

It doesn't need much of an introduction or explanation. It is the BEST. Go.


Not pictured but still AMAZING:

- Balboa Park

- The San Diego Museum of Art

- Old Town tour

- Lucha Libre Taco Shop - Mexican Professional Wrestling theme, so unique!

- Oscar's Mexican Seafood - Get the ceviche!

- The Baked Bear - best ice cream sandwich I've ever had

- See the USS Midway - We ended up not doing the tour but just seeing the size of this boat from the outside was incredible!

- Drive down to the border just for the experience


XOXO,

Em

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page