top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Jackson

Nashville in a Weekend

Nashville seems to be a hot spot for bachelorette parties, weekend getaways, and trendy instagram photos. I've been twice, and honestly I wasn't infatuated like I thought I would be. Don't get me wrong I LOVE a good country bar and live music, but sometimes it felt like there wasn't much else to do outside of the tourist scene. I'm hoping to go back again, but do a little research on local gems and outdoor spots near by. While it wasn't my favorite city I've ever been to, I did find some spots worth visiting again. If you like mediocre iPhone pics and lazy writing- read on.


Best Breakfast: Pinewood Social

Who doesn't love to bowl while they indulge in GIANT cinnamon rolls and peanut butter banana waffles? Such a unique {hipster} spot. Good food, a pool, outdoor games, and a short walk from a great view of the city. Reservations are recommended!


Favorite Place to Stay: Union Station

If you are only in for the weekend, splurge on a fancy room at the Union Station hotel. It's incredibly gorgeous on the inside and a short ride-share or walk away from Broadway. If you want to save your money for tipping all of the street artists, opt for one of the many airbnbs.


Best Place for Craft Beer: Flying Saucer Draught Emporium

Right next door to Union Station, this draught house has over 80 beers on tap and 120 in bottles. The menu didn't have any beers over about $6. They had a great happy hour deal too. If you aren't a big beer drinker, they also have lots of ciders and fruit beers. While not unique to Nashville, there are only 15 other locations in the US so its not a huge chain. Worth stopping at!!


Drool Worthy Dinner: Acme Feed & Seed

Looking over the river on Broadway, this touristy spot is worth the crowds. SO MANY good options. I've been both times I was in Nashville and it did not disappoint. It is three stories and each level has different food selections. I always get food one the first floor then go up to the less crowded second level to eat. The Hatchery is my all time favorite dish.


Unique Venue: Ascend Amphitheater

My sisters and I saw the Arctic Monkeys here and it was stellar. On a warm summer night you could not ask for a cooler scene. Actually, it was SUPER hot. So stay hydrated folks.


Must-see Broadway Bars

Tootsies: Best live music, my all-time favorite country bar. So much history at this place!


Ole Red: Great place to dance and enjoy live music. It is a great place to see a potential rising star perform!

Jason Aldean's Kitchen + Rooftop Bar: I loved this roof top, so classy and had a great view! The food is supposedly top notch as well.


Wanna-B's: Honestly, this is the bar I stayed at the longest. It is a karaoke bar so you'll either laugh until you cry or be SO impressed by the talent that is out there. My sisters chose to do their rendition of

Fergalicious......soooo I obviously peed my pants from laughing so hard. The bathroom situation was a little sketchy due to remodeling, but besides that it was the perfect place to sit back and relax.


Another cool thing about Broadway is that they have live music ALL DAY LONG. So if going out at night isn't your thing, go during the day and hear the same incredible jams. You may be the only one in the bar while some dreamy cowboy/cowgirl serenades whatever song you request. I mean, duh. I was worried when I went with my sisters because my youngest sis wasn't 21. Not a problem. We still had an absolute blast because we hit up every bar we wanted before they started requiring IDs while simultaneously avoiding the crazy crowds.


Off the Beaten Path:

Star Bagel Cafe: Such a DELICIOUS gem. My sisters and I went out for a run and ended up stopping for breakfast here. Quality coffee, fresh smoothies, and the perfect bagel. We went back two days in a row!

Richland Creek Greenway: Great spot for a run or walk. Shady, well-maintained, and a scenic boardwalk bridge over Richland Creek. It was luckily very close to the Star Bagel Cafe, so that's a plus!


Pied Piper Creamery: Unique & tasty ice creams in an area of town with tons of local spots to eat. Also, it is next door to 'I Dream of Weenie'. I didn't even eat there and I'm obsessed.


Overall, our relationship needs some work...but I'm willing to give her another try. Maybe while wearing a more comfortable pair of shoes. On my list for next time: The Nashville Farmer's market, Warner Parks, The Frothy Monkey, Mammoth Cave National Park, and Cummins Falls. I'd love to hear your favorite spots in Nashville. I really do want to love it!

With Love,

The Wandering Blonde

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page